World champion Diamonds nominated for `The Don’


The Australian Diamonds triumph at the Netball World Cup SYDNEY 2015 has seen the team nominated for a prestigious Sport Australia Hall of Fame Award.

The Diamonds are among 12 nominations for `The Don’ Award, named after one of Australia’s greatest sports stars Sir Donald Bradman, which recognises the Australian athlete who has most inspired the nation.

The Diamonds claimed Australia’s 11th world title and third in a row with a 58-55 victory over New Zealand in a pulsating final in Sydney last month, emulating the feats of the 1991 team in winning on home soil.

The Diamonds are one of three national teams in contention for the award alongside the Socceroos, who won this year’s AFC Asian Cup and the Australian cricket team that won the World Cup.

The other nominees are cyclist Anna Meares, swimmer Emily Seebohm, paralympian Kurt Fearnley, surfers Sally Fitzgibbon, Mick Fanning and Julian Wilson, iroman Shannon Eckstein and ironwoman Mirinda Carfrae and new world No.1 golfer Jason Day.

The 12 nominations will be shortlisted to four finalists prior to the announcement of the winner on Wednesday, 21 October in Melbourne.

“When you reflect on what Australian sport has achieved on the world stage this year, it’s a fantastic honor for the Diamonds to be among this group of nominees,” Netball Australia CEO Kate Palmer said.

Sport Australia Hall of Fame chairman John Bertrand agreed that the quality of this year’s nominations is a testament to the nation.

“Australia is renowned the world over for its rich sporting history and current day talent,” Bertrand said.

“As an Australian, I am exceptionally proud of the contributions made by these twelve athletes and teams, and feel privileged as chairman of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame to be able to recognise their achievements in such an esteemed fashion.”