Quad Series Rivalry Report

With less than two weeks to go until the Netball Quad Series begins, we take a look at the Samsung Diamonds’ opposition, and who has been named in the teams for the Roses, Proteas and Silver Ferns.

Samsung Diamonds Quad Series team
Caitlin Bassett
April Brandley
Courtney Bruce (debut)
Emily Mannix (debut)
Tegan Philip
Kim Ravaillion
Madi Robinson
Gabi Simpson
Caitlin Thwaites
Gretel Tippett
Liz Watson
Jo Weston

Samsung Diamonds v England Roses
August 26, 2017
Brisbane Entertainment Centre
Buy tickets

Last time these two teams met, only one goal could separate them, in a tight battle in Liverpool during the first leg of the 2017 Quad Series.

There are no debutants in the squad, however with eight 2017 Suncorp Super Netball athletes named in the squad of 14, expect some close battles, with SSN teammates to come up against each other.

England Roses Quad Series squad
Ama Agbeze (captain)
Jade Clarke (vice-captain)
Joanne Harten (vice-captain)
Sara Bayman
Eboni Beckford-Chambers
Eleanor Cardwell
Beth Cobden
Kadeen Corbin
Stacey Francis
Jodie Gibson
Serena Guthrie
Natalie Haythornthwaite
Helen Housby
Geva Mentor
Chelsea Pitman

Samsung Diamonds v South Africa SPAR Proteas
August 30, 2017
AIS Arena, Canberra
Buy tickets

In their playing history, the South Africa SPAR Proteas have never defeated the Diamonds. But don’t discount the danger this squad will provide in the Netball Quad Series.

With two Suncorp Super Netball athletes in their team and two debutants, the Proteas will be looking to build on the form they have shown in the Netball Quad Series so far.

South Africa SPAR Proteas Quad Series squad
Bongiwe Msomi (captain)
Karla Mostert (vice-captain)
Erin Burger
Maryka Holtzhausen
Danelle Lochner
Rochelle Loubser
Phumza Maweni
Precious Mthembu
Nadia Uys Pienaar
Lenize Potgieter
Ina-Marie Venter
Zanele Vimbela

New Zealand Silver Ferns v Samsung Diamonds
September 3, 2017
ILT Stadium Southland, Invercargill

Rounding out the 2017 Quad Series, the Diamonds will face arch-rivals New Zealand on their home turf.

The Silver Ferns have one debutant in the team, opting for an experienced side that will no doubt provide a strong contest.

New Zealand Silver Ferns Quad Series squad
Gina Crampton
Shannon Francois
Katrina Grant (captain)
Kelly Jury
Phoenix Karaka
Bailey Mes
Te Paea Selby-Rickit
Samantha Sinclair
Whitney Souness (debut)
Maria Tutaia (vice-captain)
Jane Watson
Maia Wilson

The Netball Quad Series begins on August 26. Learn more.