Nominate your local netball inclusion champions

Group01L.jpgNetball Australia and Australia Post are calling on netball clubs, associations and their communities to nominate their local inclusion champions for the Australia Post One Netball Community Awards, which are now open.

Now in their second year, the awards recognise and reward the individuals, clubs and associations that go above and beyond to create and support inclusive netball environments.

They include the coaches, umpires, parents and committee members who work behind the scenes to ensure everyone, regardless of their background or ability, is welcome in netball.

Up to eight winners will be chosen to receive prize packs worth more than $1000, including Australia Post Load&Go cards.

Kimberlee Green, Australian Diamonds player and Australia Post One Netball Ambassador, said the Awards recognised people who used the power of netball to attract new individuals and communities to the sport.

“Netball is Australia’s largest female participation sport because of all the passionate advocates we have in our local Clubs and Associations who work tirelessly every week to make this game so great.
“These Awards shine a light on people who welcome everyone in their local communities to netball, regardless of their background, skill or ability.”

Australia Post Chief Marketing Officer, Greg Sutherland, said the Australia Post One Netball Community Awards rewarded netball inclusion champions who extended a hand to diverse groups, including multicultural and Indigenous Australians, socio-economically disadvantaged communities, people with a disability and regional and remote communities.

“Netball is a fantastic vehicle to build awareness, empathy and understanding of diverse groups in local communities. Out on the netball court, personal and social barriers can be broken down; we want to celebrate those champions that make this happen.”

Nominations are now open at Tell us how someone you know, your club or association are creating a netball environment in your local community that includes everyone.

Nominations close on Sunday 5 July and winners will be announced on Monday, 20 July 2015.