2013 Australian 21/U Team


The Australian 21/U side as proud history at the World Youth Netball Championship since it was first played in 1988.

Australia has won of the seven WYNC tournaments contested, only missing the final on one occasion.

Some of the modern day greats that have represented their country at 21/U level and have gone onto wear the green and gold in Test matches for Australia include:

Shelley O’Donnell, Carissa Tombs, Jenny Borlase, Liz Ellis, Sarah Sutter, Laura Geitz, Kimberlee Green, Natalie Medhurst, Julie Corletto, Caitlin Bassett, Madison Browne, Sharni Layton, Catherine Cox, Eloise Southby-Halbish, Jacqui Delaney, Mo’onia Gerrard and Demelza McCloud.

In the 2013 tournament, staged in Glasgow, Scotland, Australia went through the group stage comfortably undefeated.

In the quarter and semi-finals, Australia proved far too strong for Barbados and England respectively as they won both matches by 65 and 34 goals.

However, in the final Australian was upstaged by Trans-Tasman rivals New Zealand, who went onto claim the gold medal by five goals for their third WYNC crown

Australia’s Results at the 2013 WYNC

defeated Israel 123-6
defeated Namibia 91-17
defeated Fiji 71-32
defeated South Africa 59-27
Quarter Final: defeated Barbados 79-14
Semi-Final: defeated England 67-33
Final: lost to New Zealand 47-52

Australian 21/U Team for the 2013 World Youth Netball Championships:

Kristina Brice (AIS/NSW)

Courtney Bruce (West Coast Fever/ WA)

Paige Hadley (NSW Swifts/NSW)

Cody Lange (AIS/SA)

Maddy Proud (AIS/SA)

Kimberley Ravaillion (Queensland Firebirds/NSW)

Kate Shimmin (AIS/Adelaide Thunderbirds/SA)

Gabi Simpson (Queensland Firebirds/NSW)

Kaylia Stanton (AIS/WA)

Gretel Tippett (Queensland Firebirds/Queensland)

Joanna Weston (AIS/VIC)

Micaela Wilson (AIS/VIC)

Coach: Carol Byers

Manager: Bree McDonald


For the first time in the event’s history, the World Youth Netball Championship will visit Africa when the country of Botswana hosts the 2017 tournament.

Previous tournaments have been held in Australia (1988), Fiji (1992), 1996 (Canada), 2000 (Wales), 2005 (USA) and 2009 (Cook Islands).