National Netball Championships umpires announced

Netball Australia is pleased to announce the umpires and umpire coaches who have been selected for the 17/U & 19/U National Netball Championships to be held next week in Canberra.

10 of the selected umpires have been assessed throughout the ANL season and selected by Netball Australia, with the remaining eight being nominated by their state Member Organisation.

Head umpire coach, Michelle Phippard recognised the progression in the umpire pathway.

“Selection for a National Championship is a significant achievement for any umpire, and an opportunity to progress further on the national development pathway.”

Phippard congratulated the umpires and umpire coaches for their selection.

“The pool of umpires selected for the 2017 event have performed strongly during the ANL season and/or their state based competitions over the past twelve months to earn their places. They deserve congratulations for their efforts.”

The National Netball Championships will be held in Canberra, beginning next Wednesday, April 19.


Danielle Trowell (ACT)

Sarah Slattery (ACT)

Jeremy Spindler (ACT)

Georgina Sulley-Beales (SA)

Rebecca Ferguson (SA)

Cara Davies (SA)

Andrea Paini (WA)

Christine Johnston (WA)

Tamara Welsford (NSW)

Thomas Turner (NSW)

Tayla Favell (NSW)

Mark Munnich (NT)

Laura Hayes (QLD)

Nathan Begley (VIC)

Timothy Marshall (VIC)

Ashlea Anderson (VIC)

James Adams (TAS)

Rachael Stebbings (TAS)


Umpire Coaches:

Michelle Phippard

Marc Henning

Joshua Bowring

Raechel Richards

Dianne Cocker


Register for the Foundation Umpire course

Register for the Rule of Netball theory exam