England name squad to face Diamonds

England Roses coach Tracey Neville has announced her squad of 12 players that will take on the Australian Diamonds in January’s three-Test series.

Sara Bayman will captain the Roses with Jade Clarke, who’s returned to play with Loughborough Lightning in England’s Super League after five seasons in the ANZ Championship, her deputy for the series against the Commonwealth Games Gold Medalists and reigning world champions.

While familiar names such as Geva Mentor, Jo Harten and Serena Guthrie will miss the series, the Roses squad still boasts former ANZ Championship defenders Ama Agbeze and Eboni Beckford-Chambers.

The Roses will host the Diamonds at Liverpool’s Echo Arena on 20 January followed by two Tests at London’s Copper Box Arena on 22 and 24 January.

The Diamonds squad will head to England in mid-January.

England squad: Sara Bayman (captain), Jade Clarke (vice-captain), Ama Agbeze, Eboni Beckford-Chambers, Sasha Corbin, Rachel Dunn, Jodie Gibson, Natalie Haythornthwaite, Helen Housby, Lindsay Keable, Laura Malcolm, Rachel Shaw. Reserves: George Fisher and Hannah Joseph.