Camp first taste of high performance environment

2015 National Championships17U - 5 v 6 Western Australia v TasmaniaThere’s no shortage of experience to help guide Australia’s best emerging young talent at this week’s 17/U Development Squad Camp in Canberra.

Australian Diamonds coach Lisa Alexander and her assistant Michelle den Dekker will oversee the four-day camp at Netball Australia’s Centre of Excellence.

The 36 athletes selected to attend the camp from the recent 17/U national championships will also get valuable advice from SIS/SAS coaches Julie Hoornweg, Gillian Lee, national 21/U coach Tania Obst, Michelle Wilkins, Anita Keelan, Kylee Byrne, Melinda Clarke and ex-Melbourne Vixen and West Coast Fever player Johannah Curran.

Plus eight targeted coaches – Moira Gaha, Linda Peterson, Karen Turnbull, Brian Lines, Danielle Carstens, Ashley Chapman, Penny Shearer, Tara Steel, Kim Symons, Sharyn Hill and Kate Durham – will assist with sessions over the duration of the camp.

2015 National Championships17U Grand FinalQueensland v NSWThe athletes will be put through a range of on-court sessions – as well as two specialist position sessions – and also be educated about ways to improve their health and well-being off the court.

Alexander said this camp is the first introduction for this age group in the high performance system and she’s eager to take a closer look at the potential future Diamonds in this environment.

“This program is critically important in identifying our talent early in the High Performance Pathway,” Alexander said.

“Of the current Australian Diamonds squad, more than 80 per cent of those athletes were once part of our national 17/U development squad.”

The 2015 Australian 17/U squad is: Brooke Allan (VIC), Alexia Baker (Queensland), Natalie Bright (WA), Georgia Brown (SA), Jacoba Clough (ACT), Mardi Cunningham (VIC), Demi Evans (NSW), Tayla Fraser (NSW), Jada Gafa (Queensland), Matilda Garrett (VIC), Sasha Glasgow (SA), Zoe Haseler (ACT), Maddison Hinchliffe (QLD), Tara Hinchliffe (QLD), Rylie Holland (QLD), Binnian Hunt (QLD), Kimberley Jenner (QLD), Veronika Jukic (NSW), Kate Kelly-Oman (VIC), Kristen Kessler (NSW), Sharni Lambden (VIC), Hannah Lee (TAS), Olivia Lewis (WA), Isabella Macdonald (NT), Morgan Millar (WA), Lauren Moore (NSW), Courtney Murphy (NT), Emily O’Connell (SA), Teigan O’Shannassy (NSW), Kaitlin Petrie (TAS), Danielle Phillips (VIC), Rahni Samason (VIC), Annabella Sorby (QLD), Nicola Sulley-Beales (SA), Helen Taylor (WA), Laura Towell (NSW).