Australian underage squads named

_MCA9737LiThe country’s most promising netballers have been selected in the 17/U and 19/U National Development squads following the conclusion of the 2014 National Netball Championships at the Waverley Netball Centre in Melbourne.

The athletes, selected on their potential as well as their performances throughout the six-day tournament, will attend national training camps at Netball Australia’s Centre of Excellence with many getting their first taste of a national program.

Netball Australia’s National Pathway Manager Stacey West said selectors were impressed with the athletic potential and depth of talent on display throughout the National Championships and are keen to observe the selected athletes progression into the National Pathway system.

“Both squads have a depth of athletes that performed consistently well at the championships and athletes who demonstrated potential to enter our national pathway and be a potential Diamond,” West said.

_MCA9741LiSelectors have named 22 athletes in the 19/U National Squad while 36 athletes make up the 17/U National Development Squad.

“It’s very exciting we’re able to develop the athletes’ individual and team-based skills in a high performance squad camp environment” West said.

17/U Australian squad: Casey Adamson (Victoria), Kiera Austin (New South Wales), Elizabeth Birch (Victoria), Natalie Bright (Western Australia), Jane Cook (Victoria), Mardi Cunningham (Victoria), Prudence Ellis (New South Wales), Bryah Gafa (Queensland), Sophie Garbin (Western Australia), Mandy Hanegraaf (Victoria), Mia Henderson (Queensland), Charlee Hodges (South Australia), Tayla Honey (Victoria), Kobe Howard (Queensland), Binnian Hunt (Queensland), Sophie Immonen (ACT), Kristen Kessler (New South Wales), Sharni Lambden (Victoria), Abigail Latu-Meafou (Queensland), Dana Lester (Tasmania), Isabella McDonald (Northern Territory), Alison Miller (ACT), Shelby Miller (Tasmania), Lenora Misa (Queensland), Lauren Moore (New South Wales), Jacqueline Newton (Victoria), Claire O’Brien (New South Wales), Amy Parmenter (New South Wales), Hannah Petty (South Australia), Cassandra Radford (New South Wales), Sarah Raper (South Australia), Stephanie Sarro (South Australia), Tabatha Saville (Northern Territory), Annabella Sorby (Queensland), Nicole Sulley-Beales (South Australia), Phoebe Wilcox (Western Australia).

19/U Australian squad: Toni Anderson (New South Wales), Jessica Anstiss (Western Australia), Lucy Armfield (South Australia), Maddy Balson (Northern Territory), Emily Burgess (South Australia), Mahalia Cassidy (Queensland), Georgia Clayden (ACT), Kate Eddy (Victoria), Samantha Gooden (Northern Territory), Hulita Haukinima (Queensland), Madeline Hay (New South Wales), Cara Koenen (Queensland), Annika Lee-Jones (Western Australia), Nicole Lendich (Western Australia), Georgia Marshall (ACT), Leah Middleton (Queensland), Emma Ryde-Code (Victoria), Kimberley Shepherd (Western Australia), Tanisha Stanton (New South Wales), Alice Teague-Neeld (Victoria), Numi Tupaea (Western Australia), Lauren Yager (New South Wales).