2016 national championships locations named

Australia’s best underage netballers are heading to Tasmania next March when Launceston hosts the 2016 21/U national championships.

To be held between 8-13 March at The Silverdome in Launceston, it’s the first time since 2012 that the national titles have been played in Tasmania.

The last time Tasmania hosted the 21/U national titles was in 2000, also at Launceston, that saw Victoria triumph over South Australia.

South Australia is aiming for its fourth consecutive 21/U title having won the last three national championships played in Canberra (2013), Adelaide (2014) and the Sunshine Coast, Queensland (2015).

The last state to win four straight 21/U national titles was New South Wales in 2011.

Only seven states and territories will compete in Launceston with the Northern Territory withdrawing from the 21/U age group for 12 months.

The new multi-million dollar State Netball Centre in Perth will host its first major event when the 17/U and 19/U national titles are played there between 11-16 April.

The last time both age groups were played in Western Australia was in 2008 when Victoria (17/U) and New South Wales (19/U) tasted success.

Queensland (17/U) – the first the state had won the title since 2001 – and New South Wales (19/U) are the defending champions.

All eight states and territories will contest both age groups.

Click here for the 2016 21/U draw.

Click here for the 2016 19/U draw.

Click here for the 2016 17/U draw.